December 9, 2013


Sanaa Theatre Awards awards winners. We announce all category winners in this awards ceremony for Kenya’s artistic peoples.

More by Correspondent

Sanaa Theatre Awards awards winners, all categories

Sanaa Theatre Awards awards winners, all categories

Kenyan based Nigerian comedian Obinna Ike’s popularity seems to be growing with each passing day. The Easy FM (Home Grown) radio co-host managed to beat veteran comedians Churchill and Jalang’o in the battle for the best male comedian on TV, at the inaugural Sanaa Theatre Awards 2013 for his outstanding performance in the Breaktime Show on NTV.

That was Obinna’s second award this year after he scooped his first last month during the Cheka Awards as the most promising comedian 2013.

“I thank God for this and thanks to all my fans,” said Obinna as he received his award accompanied by his first lady (“Madam” as he popularly refers to her).

Female comedian Zulekha’s star also seems to be shinning brighter after she emerged the winner of the best female comedian on TV for her role in Kenya Corner which airs on KTN, even though the organizers maintained that it was a tie between her and teacher Wanjiku of the Churchill Show, however there can only be one winner in this case.


The Sanaa Theatre Awards kicked off at the Alliance Francaise and the aim of the awards, which is an initiative of Tone Communications, is to recognize and award excellence in the field of theatre in 40 different categories. The Sanaa Awards happen to be the first theatre awards since the defunct Mbalamwezi Theatre Awards in 2004.

Other winners of the night in the gala event included;

Otonglo Time – Best narrative theatre

Hell’s Kitchen (Alliance High School) – Best production secondary school

Nakuru players – Best improved theatre space

Churchill Live – Best TV comedy recorded before a live audience

Best Actress: Nice Githinji – Festival of Creative Arts

Best Supporting Actress – Consolata Onyango – Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University

Best Supporting Actor – Harry Ebale – Meetings

Best Director – Sammy Mwangi, Victor Ber – Hearstrings

Best Set Light And Sound Design – Elements by John Sibi Okumu


Related Articles

Notice: ob_end_flush(): Failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/devzilojo/public_html/2020/kenyaforum/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5373